AUSTRALIAN INSTITUTE of COMPANY DIRECTORS

T: +61 2 8248 6600 F: +61 2 8248 6633 E: media@companydirectors.com.au

MEDIA RELEASE Monday 20 August 2018

South Australian directors win Not-for-Profit Leaders Scholarship

The Australian Institute of Company Directors is pleased to announce that 15 South Australian directors and organisational leaders are recipients of the 2018 AICD Not-for-Profit Scholarships program.

Under the program, recipients undertake one of the AICD's highly-regarded education programs, including the *NFP Foundations of Directorship*.

The AICD Not-for-Profit Scholarships program forms part of the AICD's strong commitment to the NFP sector. Two-thirds of the AICD's 43,000-strong membership play some role in the not-for-profit sector.

AICD South Australian-Northern Territory State Manager Clinton Jury congratulated the winners and wished them well in their studies.

"Not-for-Profit organisations play a vital role in the lives of our communities," he said.

"Public trust is the NFP sector's most valuable asset – anything we can do as an organisation to support directors taking an active approach to address trust through active governance education a critical step in ensuring the sector's ongoing success."

Eliza Bergin, a barrister on the board of Refugee Advocacy Service of South Australia, says the scholarship will help her serve the community.

"I believe in giving back to the community and have always done pro bono work during my career," she said.

"I am looking forward to developing my leadership capabilities and knowledge of governance."

AICD Managing Director & CEO Angus Armour said that NFPs were an essential part of Australia's social fabric.

"NFPs face a number of challenges, especially as many operate with tight budgets and in an increasingly complex and constantly evolving operating environment. Having the governance expertise to steer them to success cannot be taken for granted."

This year's other South Australian scholarship winner are:

- Kerrie Akkermans: CEO, Girl Guides SA
- Roxana Baratosy: President of the Governance Board, SIN
- Jessica Bond: Executive Director and Founder, Captain Courageous Children's Medical Research Foundation Ltd
- Leighton Boyd: Director, MarionLIFE Community Services Inc.
- Anne Crouch: Chair, South Australian Financial Counsellors Association
- Rob Edwards: Board member, Shelter SA
- Felicia Goodes: Deputy Chair, LKG Community Ltd
- Tracey Strugnell: Senior Sustainability Officer, Coorong Tatiara Local Action Plan

AUSTRALIAN INSTITUTE of COMPANY DIRECTORS

- Gregory Whittaker: Director Facilities Management, Christies Beach Surf Lifesaving Club
- Erica Benn: Non-Executive Director, Helping Hand Aged Care
- Judith Bowden: CEO, Lolly Jar Circus Inc.
- Russell D'Costa: Non-Executive Director, Life Education SA
- Jonathan Newchurch: Director and Company Secretary, Australian Indigenous Doctors Association
- Sarah Collyer-Braham: Board Member, Volunteering SA & NT

Media Contact: Carissa Simons 02 8248 6612 | 0417 348 659

The Australian Institute of Company Directors is committed to excellence in governance. We make a positive impact on society and the economy through governance education, director development and advocacy. Our membership of more than 43,000 includes directors and senior leaders from business, government and the not-for-profit sector.